From staff reports and press release

The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced Brown University attackman Dylan Molloy and University of Maryland midfielder Taylor Cummings as the winners of the 16th annual Tewaaraton Award, presented by Under Armour. The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse players in the United States.

Former St. Anthony’s HS (NY) star Dylan Molloy, the catalyst of the nation’s top-ranked offense, led the country with 116 points, 54 assists and 6.44 points per game as Brown returned to the Final Four for the first time since 1994. The junior first team All-American from Setauket, N.Y., registered five or more points in 15 of 18 contests, helping the Bears to a school-record 16 wins and the Ivy League regular-season title. Molloy won his second consecutive Ivy League Player of the Year award and is the sixth player in NCAA history to post at least 50 goals and 50 assists in a single season.

The nation’s active leading scorer with 247 points, his 116 points this season rank fourth in NCAA history, trailing only former Tewaaraton winners Lyle Thompson (128 in 2014, 121 in ’15) and Miles Thompson (119 in ’14). Earlier this week, Molloy earned the USILA Lt. Raymond J. Enners Outstanding Player Award and the Lt. Col. J.I. (Jack) Turnbull Outstanding Attackman Award. He is Brown’s first Tewaaraton finalist and winner, and the first winner from the Ivy League since Cornell’s Rob Pannell in 2013.

The five men’s finalists were University of Denver attackman Connor Cannizzaro, Duke University midfielder Myles Jones, University of Notre Dame defenseman Matt Landis, Molloy and Yale University attackman Ben Reeves.

Taylor Cummings is the first player—man or woman—to win three Tewaaraton Awards. The senior and two-time defending award winner from Ellicott City, Md., was named Big Ten Midfielder of the Year and Big Ten Tournament MVP as Maryland took home the conference’s regular-season and tournament titles, and advanced to an eighth consecutive Final Four. One of the most decorated players in NCAA history, Cummings quarterbacked the nation’s top-scoring offense with a team-best 79 points, and was also the top Terrapin with 61 ground balls, 140 draw controls and 52 caused turnovers. Her per-game averages for ground balls, draw controls and caused turnovers all led the Big Ten. The four-time first-team IWLCA All-American lifted her team to a fourth national championship game appearance in as many seasons in College Park.

Cummings is one of four women’s players to win the Tewaaraton Award in consecutive seasons, along with Northwestern’s Kristen Kjellman (2006, 2007) and Hannah Nielsen (2008, 2009) and Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann (2012, 2013). She is Maryland’s seventh Tewaaraton winner, a group which also includes Jen Adams (2001), Caitlyn McFadden (2010) and Schwarzmann (2012, 2013). Maryland players have won six of the last seven women’s Tewaaraton Awards.

The five women’s finalists were Cummings, University of Florida midfielder Nicole Graziano, University of Maryland defender Alice Mercer, University of Notre Dame defender Barbara Sullivan and Syracuse University attacker Kayla Treanor.

“We are proud to recognize these wonderful individuals who represent our Award and the sport so well,” said Jeffrey T. Harvey, chairman of the Tewaaraton Foundation, “Dylan stood out with his incredible play and leadership bringing Brown back to the Final Four. Taylor has set such a high standard and it cannot be understated the significance of her becoming the first three-time recipient.”

This year’s initial Watch Lists were announced on Feb. 23 and included the top 50 men’s and women’s college lacrosse players in the country. Two rounds of additions to the Watch Lists were announced on March 17 and April 7. The 25 men’s and women’s nominees were announced on April 29, and narrowed to five finalists on May 15. The selection committees are comprised of 15 men’s and 14 women’s current college coaches, and are chaired by US Lacrosse National Lacrosse Hall of Fame coaches Jack Emmer (men’s) and Feffie Barnhill (women’s).

Screen Shot 2016-06-02 at 10.23.29 PM

Have a recruiting commitment to report? Send an email to info@laxlessons.com, contact Joe Lombardi directly at joe@laxlessons.com or send a Tweet to @Joe_Lombardi or @LaxLessons.

LaxLessons’ Fall 2015 Signing Week coverage

Recruiting abstractLL/RR LaxLessons Recruiting Rundown: The Leader  The Original, The Best 

Our groundbreaking, imitated and never duplicated Recruiting Rundown launched in 2009, years before the copycat imitators.

Tristate Division I Class of 2015 commitments by college

Tristate Division I Class of 2016 commitments by college

Tristate Division I Class of 2017 commitments by college

Tristate Division I Class of 2018 commitments by college

Tristate Division I Class of 2019 commitments by college

Tristate Division I Class of 2020 commitments by college

LL/RR Recruiting Rundown commitment lists

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2015

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2016

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2017

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2018

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2019

* Updated tristate recruiting commitment rundown for Class of 2020

* Recruiting commitment story archive

2015 National Letter Of Intent Fall Signing Week story/photo archive

* 2014 National Letter of Intent Fall Signing Week story/photo archive

* 2012 National Letter of Intent Fall Signing Week story/photo archive

tristatetop100Tristate Top 100

First 10 attackmen

First 10 midfielders

First 10 defenders/longstick midfielders

First 5 faceoff midfielders

First 5 goaltenders

First 25 seniors

First 25 juniors

First 25 sophomores

Once again, our Tristate Top 100 is an exclusive feature on our Lacrosse Insider premium coverage section. If you are not already, become an Insider by clicking here.

Get in the Zone: The HS Zone

High School Zone: Long Island

High School Zone: Hudson Valley

High School Zone: Connecticut

High School Zone: New Jersey

High School Zone: New York City

High School Zone: Upstate New York

High School Zone: New England

High School Zone: Pennsylvania

High School Zone: Maryland

High School Zone: Canada

High School Zone: Beyond the Northeast

* Follow LaxLessons on Twitter by clicking here.

* Become a Fan of LaxLessons on Facebook now by clicking here.

Subscribe to our free newsletter

Be sure to sign up for our free online newsletter. Just enter your email address on the “Receive Our Newsletter” link on the homepage of LaxLessons.com

PLAYS/DRILLS: Apps for iPhone/iPad

* Download for free the new LaxLessons’ playbook Android app in Google play.

* Download for free the new LaxLessons’ playbook iPad/iPhone app in the iTunes store.

* You can subscribe to LaxLessons.com’s playbook, featuring animated drills and plays for your team, by clicking here.

Man-Up, Man-Down Plays

Posted In: College lacrosse

If you liked this article, please take this time to share it with your Facebook friends using the Facebook button (see Facebook post button to the left) or retweet it using Twitter (see retweet button to the left). You may also want to follow us or subscribe to the site to stay up-to-date with this article. If you'd rather follow us from your Facebook account, join our Facebook fan page.

Leave a Reply