The annual Darien vs. Manhasset and Chaminade vs. Yorktown showdowns will have special meaning this coming season.

They will be played at West Point as part of Jim Regan Day at West Point on Saturday, April 24. Army will be hosting Holy Cross at noon.

More on that in a moment.

In addition, Darien, five-time Connecticut Class M champions, will be playing at least two other out of state opponents: Yorktown and Conestoga (Pa.).

The Yorktown game will be played on a Friday night at Yorktown. So mark your calendars now, gang, for 7 p.m. May 7 at Charlie Murphy Field.

The Conestoga game will be played at Haverford College in Pennsylvania as part of the Checking for Cancer Classic on Saturday, April 17.  Yorktown will be meeting Garden City at the Classic.

Darien coach Jeff Brameier reports he’s also trying to schedule a date with 2009 Class B New York state finalist Nisakyuna. Stay tuned for more on that. But for now, it looks like it will be on Friday, April 9.

In addition, the Blue Wave will have crossover league games against Greenwich (at Darien on May 19), Westhill  (at Westhill on April 29), Danbury (at Danbury on April 7) and Bridgeport Central (at Darien on April 13). The Danbury game is Darien’s season opener.

Darien’s first scrimmage will be Thursday, March 25 at John Jay. Darien will be hosting jamboree scrimmages on two Saturdays:  March 28 and April 3. The Blue Wave will also be hosting Salisbury in a scrimmage on March 31.

The FCIAC championships are Friday, May 28 at Brien McMahon High School in Norwalk.

Jimmy Regan, a Manhasset native, was a former Chaminade and Duke star who served as a sergeant with the Army Ranger Regiment. He died on Feb. 9, 2007 after an improvised explosive device detonated near his vehicle while he was on combat patrol in northern Iraq.


Posted In: CHSAA lacrosse, Fairfield lacrosse, Long Island lacrosse, Section 8

If you liked this article, please take this time to share it with your Facebook friends using the Facebook button (see Facebook post button to the left) or retweet it using Twitter (see retweet button to the left). You may also want to follow us or subscribe to the site to stay up-to-date with this article. If you'd rather follow us from your Facebook account, join our Facebook fan page.

5 Responses to “Darien, Manhasset, Yorktown, Chaminade to meet at West Point”

  1. Joe Lombardi says:

    Here is Darien’s tentative schedule for 2010:

    Scrimmages

    March 25 Thurs John Jay away 4 p.m.
    March 28 Sat Darien Jamboree home 8-1 p.m.
    March 31 Wed Salisbury home 4 p.m.
    April 3 Sat Darien Jamboree home 8-Noon

    Regular season
    April 7 Wed Danbury away 4 p.m.
    April 9 Fri Niskayuna home TBD
    April 13 Tues Bridgeport Central home 4 p.m.
    April 15 Thurs McMahon away 7 p.m.
    April 17 Sat Conestoga away (at Haverford College) TBD
    April 20 Tues Trinity Catholic home 4 p.m.
    April 22 Thur Wilton away 7 p.m.
    April 24 Sat Manhasset away (at West Point) TBD
    April 27 Tues Fairfield-Ludlowe home 4 p.m.
    April 29 Thurs Westhill away 4:30 p.m.
    May 1 Sat New Canaan home 1 p.m.
    May 4 Tues Fairfield-Warde home 4 p.m.
    May 7 Fri Yorktown away 7 p.m.
    May 11 Tues Norwalk away 7 p.m.
    May 13 Thurs St. Joseph’s away 4 p.m.
    May 19 Wed Greenwich home 4 p.m.

    Championships

    May 22 Sat FCIAC quarterfinals Higher seed 1 p.m.
    May 25 Tues FCIAC semifinals McMahon 5 p.m./7:30 p.m.
    May 28 Fri FCIAC championships McMahon 7:30 p.m.
    June 3 Thurs Class M – State playdowns Higher seed 3 p.m.
    June 5 Sat Class M – State quarterfinals Higher seed 3 p.m.
    June 9 Wed Class M – State semifinals TBA
    June 12 Sat Class M – State finals TBA

    All-star games

    June 14 Mon Senior All-Star Branford TBA
    June 19 Sat Super Junior All-Star TBA
    June 20 Sun Alumni Game home TBA

  2. BlueWhite says:

    FCIAC scheduling requirements are out of whack when Darien is required to play Trinity Catholic, Bridgeport Central but has to use one of the 4 NL games it is alloted if it and Ridgefield want to get on the calendar.

    Any tentatives for other local FCIAC schools?

  3. Tug Speadman says:

    Darien Did not schedule Ridgefield after several attempts from Colsey to put the game together. Not sure which in state team they used for their NL game. You are right, it should not come down to having to use NL games to schedule teams in you’re conference that you should be playing instead of lower tier conference teams.

  4. IslandLaxpert says:

    Should be a tremendous day of lax — both HS and college. Looking forward to headig up for it.

Leave a Reply